Home / Enzen News / Committee on Climate Change Announce Lord Deben as New Chair

Committee on Climate Change Announce Lord Deben as New Chair

12 Sept 2012

The Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC) has announced that Lord Deben PC (the RT Hon John Gummer) will be the new Chair of the Committee on Climate Change (CCC).

The former Environment Secretary, Lord Deben, is taking over the chairmanship from Lord Adair Turner who stepped down earlier this year to concentrate on his role as Chair of the Financial Services Authority. Lord Deben brings with him, sixteen years of top level ministerial experience including longest serving environment secretary, and Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

David Kennedy, the Committee’s Chief Executive said in an official statement:
“I’m delighted to welcome John to the Committee. His experience in environment, politics and business will be very valuable to us. In particular, I am confident that John will make a major contribution as we further develop the case for investing in the green economy, and identify the actions required to achieve this. I thank Professor Dame Julia King for chairing the Committee in the interim, during which she was instrumental in finalising and launching two major reports.”

Lord Deben commented:
“I am very honoured to be appointed chairman of the Committee on Climate Change. I shall seek to build on the firm foundations laid by my predecessor and look forward to working with the extremely talented team – not only the committee itself, but the expert support that David Kennedy has brought together. Green growth is essential to the British economy, and getting the programme to combat climate change right will be a massive contribution to our economic recovery.”